Dan Robbins

Dan Robbins has played and recorded in settings ranging from solo, duo, trio, etc. to big band and orchestra, and is known for driving, creative, harmonically and melodically rich background and lead parts on bass. He doubles on both acoustic bass, and four, five, six, and seven-string electric bass, in styles ranging from solo jazz chord-melody arrangements, to hard-swinging jazz double bass accompaniment, acoustic and electric funk, Brazilian, Afro-Cuban, Caribbean, rock, R&B, blues, tango, Indian, and fusion styles, as well as Arco (played with the bow) classical and contemporary interpretations of composed music. He is also known to employ looping and effects to create the impression of a ?one man band?. He brings a fiery improvisational spirit and energy to all the projects he is involved with.? Currently co-leading the funk trio Wasabi, he also has an ongoing duo project with distinguished California Poet Laureate Al Young, and plays bass for the Hristo Vitchev Quartet, Joe DeRose & Amici, the Weber Iago Trio, SEVA, Vandivier, the Martan Mann Trio, and also does solo concerts.

Dan teaches privately, and for the Monterey Jazz Festival and San Jose Jazz Society, and freelances in studios and venues in the Bay Area and beyond. Dan has performed or recorded with international jazz stars Christian McBride, Roy Hargrove, Danilo Perez, Horacio ?El Negro? Hernandez, Benny Green, Giovanni Hidalgo, Peter Martin, Cedar Walton, David Sanchez, Tessa Souter, Miguel Zenon, Brian Bromberg, Lewis Nash, John Benitez, Maraca, John Clayton, Bruce Forman, Taylor Eigsti, and many West Coast luminaries such as Frank Martin, Celso Alberti, Claudia Villela, Masha Campagne, Rick Walker, Hristo Vitchev, Weber Iago, Joe DeRose, Marshall Otwell, Dann Zinn, Jason Lewis, Dick Whittington, Paul Contos, Vince Lateano, Christian Tamburr, Mike Shannon, Kenny Stahl, Dan Zemelman, Roger Eddy, Alan Hall, Tammi Brown, Colin Douglass, Derek Smith, Greg Wyser-Pratte, Rick Vandivier, Nate Pruitt, Billy Jones, Wally Schnalle, Murray Low, Martan Mann, Rhan Wilson, Patti Maxine, Amikaeyla, Alan Jones, David Valdez, Nancy King, Randy Porter, Olaf Sciappacasse, Pascal and Remy LeBoeuff, and many others.